top of page

Swallowing Disorders & Its Stages

What is swallowing?

Swallowing, also called Deglutition, the act of passing food from the mouth, by way of the pharynx (or throat) and esophagus, to the stomach. Four phases are involved in swallowing food.

What is Dysphagia:

The global definition of dysphagia is simply “difficulty in swallowing.” Dysphagia may also include such problems as foods or liquids “sticking” in the throat or regurgitation of swallowed liquids or foods.

Incidence and Prevalence:

It is estimated that in the United States alone, 300,000 to 600,000 people with clinically significant dysphagia are diagnosed annually. The true incidence of dysphagia may not be known, as it is often a condition following a primary diagnosis. dysphagia can be listed as a secondary diagnosis following a stroke.

Phases of swallowing:

The phases of the swallowing are oral preparatory, oral, pharyngeal, and esophageal.


Dysphagia can be caused by many different disorders, including natural aging, neurologic diseases,

head injury, degenerative diseases, systemic diseases, autoimmune disorder, and infections